Roller Setting

Roller Setting Tutorial- Series #1 Video #2

Greetings and Salutations to everyone out there in internet land! I hope that 2014 will be your year for unbounded growth and prosperity!!!

Also, to thank my subscribers and readers, I am creating a new series of videos dedicated solely to roller setting since it is one of the healthiest ways to style relaxed hair. I know I talk about how great it is all the time, but now I want to show you how great it is!!! 
Not only have I achieved excellent growth progress and maintained the integrity of my hair, I just fell in love with this method of hair styling. It keeps your ends healthy and can help you stretch your relaxers longer. 
You can expect roller setting tips, tricks, and regular updates. I will showcase various ways to achieve silky-smooth results, and create various styles ranging from straight to curly and everything in between. 
Join me weekly on this roller setting hair journey.  Let’s begin with the video below: 
6 thoughts on “Roller Setting Tutorial- Series #1 Video #2

  1. Yes! I'm excited about your rollersetting series. Learning how to rollerset a lot better is one of my “hair resolutions”. So my question is about roller placement on the sides of the hair. I do ok with the mohawk row but when I attempt to do my sides that is when it gets all weird & I get kind of flustered. I noticed in the video you automatically knew to part two sections on each side. Is there way to determine whether you need two or more sections on each side to prevent overcrowding the rollers with too many sections or not having enough parts that you put too much hair on the rollers? Any tips would be appreciated.

    Like

  2. Yes! I'm excited about your rollersetting series. Learning how to rollerset a lot better is one of my “hair resolutions”. So my question is about roller placement on the sides of the hair. I do ok with the mohawk row but when I attempt to do my sides that is when it gets all weird & I get kind of flustered. I noticed in the video you automatically knew to part two sections on each side. Is there way to determine whether you need two or more sections on each side to prevent overcrowding the rollers with too many sections or not having enough parts that you put too much hair on the rollers? Any tips would be appreciated.

    Like

  3. Yes! This was a problem that I had too, and the short answer is to part the hair vertically behind your ear. That should give you two sides that are just wide enough for the rollers- about 1.75 inches per section. Then, use the diameter of the roller to part the depth of the section. So, the smaller the roller is in diameter, the more rollers you will have to use for each section, and conversely, the larger the roller is the fewer rollers you will need for each section. Then, You will have just the right amount of hair for each roller. For example, if I am using gray rollers that are 2″ in diameter, I part each horizontal section of the hair two inches deep. By doing so, I use 4 rollers on the section behind my hair and 2 rollers on the section in front of my hair. With purple rollers (1.75″ diameter) it's about a 5:3 behind the ear/in front of the ear ratio, and with red rollers (1.5″ diameter) it's about a 6:4 behind the ear/in front of the ear ratio. I will detail how this is done in my next video just for you. Please keep the questions coming…

    Like

  4. Yes! This was a problem that I had too, and the short answer is to part the hair vertically behind your ear. That should give you two sides that are just wide enough for the rollers- about 1.75 inches per section. Then, use the diameter of the roller to part the depth of the section. So, the smaller the roller is in diameter, the more rollers you will have to use for each section, and conversely, the larger the roller is the fewer rollers you will need for each section. Then, You will have just the right amount of hair for each roller.

    For example, if I am using gray rollers that are 2″ in diameter, I part each horizontal section of the hair two inches deep. By doing so, I use 4 rollers on the section behind my hair and 2 rollers on the section in front of my hair. With purple rollers (1.75″ diameter) it's about a 5:3 behind the ear/in front of the ear ratio, and with red rollers (1.5″ diameter) it's about a 6:4 behind the ear/in front of the ear ratio. I will detail how this is done in my next video just for you. Please keep the questions coming…

    Like

  5. Aww thank you so much 🙂 🙂 The math lover in me understood exactly what you were saying but the video will be an added bonus. I'll be on the lookout for it & I'll definitely let you know if I have more questions.

    Like

  6. Aww thank you so much 🙂 🙂 The math lover in me understood exactly what you were saying but the video will be an added bonus. I'll be on the lookout for it & I'll definitely let you know if I have more questions.

    Like

Leave a Reply

