Oils & Butters · Products & Use

Coconut Oil


Lately, it has been both cold and dry. My hair was so dry that I had to go back to what I know works best for my hair- Coconut Oil

Coconut oil is one of the best cures for dry hair and scalp. It can actually penetrate the outer layer of the hair and lodge itself in the inner cortex of the hair follicle. Also, it is an anti fungal, and can penetrate into the skin therby moisturizing and absolving you of fungal issues of the scalp.

Last night I wrapped my hair. I put a dab of coconut oil in my palms, rubbed my hands together and distributed it throughout my wrap. After taking of my scarf this morning and combing down my hair it was very moisturized. I have experienced no dryness even though it is still cold and arid outside.

Also, I am going to resume my hot oil treatments. In the past I would take 1 ounce of coconut oil, and if my hair is super dry add an additional ounce of unrefined shea butter (both solid at room temperature), and heat them up. After becoming a liquid, and after shampooing my hair I would then distribute the warm oil, put on a plastic hair cap, and sit under a heating cap for about 30 minutes.

After the hot oil treatment I rinse, apply conditioner, and rinse again to roller-set my hair.

More information about coconut oil can be found here…http://www.coconutoil.com

Leave a Reply

